Bhutan is a landlocked country in the Eastern Himalayas, located between China and India. "Druk Yul," or "land of the thunder dragon" as Bhutan is known, has been heavily influenced by Tibetan culture and Tibetan Buddhism from the land immediately to its north. Nepal and Bangladesh are located in close proximity to Bhutan but do not share a land border. The country has a population of over 754,000 and a territory of 38,394 square kilometers (14,824 sq mi). Bhutan is a constitutional monarchy with Vajrayana Buddhism as the state religion. Thimphu is the capital of Bhutan. There are three major ethnic groups in Bhutan: The Tshanglas (or Sharchop) are considered indigenous people of eastern Bhutan, the Ngalops, and Tibetans immigrated to Bhutan, and the Lhotshampas, a group of Nepali-speaking Bhutanese. The official language is Dzongkha.


Digital Resources in languages of Bhutan

Audio Bible and Gospel Films are available in several languages of Bhutan. Click on Language Name in the below table to access the Language Resource page which provides Scripture resources as well as links to several other materials available in that particular language. If you have any questions or looking for a ministry partnership opportunity, please write to

Your encouragement is valuable to us

Your stories help make websites like this possible.